Trust

Happy Monday…or something like that.  This weekend I wasn’t feeling too fabulous, but it was good nonetheless.  Friday night started with, you guessed it, some pizza and the COUCH!  I think I was asleep by 10 – amen!

Saturday was a pretty productive day – cleaned the house, as well as my car.  I haaate cleaning my car.  I never do, so this was a huge accomplishment.  It looks better than ever!

 

The driver's side floor mat - Who knew boots and heels bring in so much dirt?

 

Wait, what’s that bag doing there?

What?  Doesn’t every foodie have a car ‘stash’??

We had our final wedding of 2010 this weekend.  I think we were up to 5 this year (which doesn’t even come close to competing with last years weddings).  I think we’ve moved on from weddings for a little while and have entered the land of babies.  Oh, and 30th birthdays, but we don’t have to get into that.

The wedding location was pretty cool.  The ceremony was held at a church built in the 1700s.  It was so simple and had so much character.

 

The pulpit

The balcony

 

If you’ve ever caught the Real World – oh how I was obsessed with this show (San Fran and Seattle were the best!) – then you may have watched the one filmed in Philadelphia.  MTV converted an old bank into the house for the cast.  After the show, they turned it into a pretty cool place to have parties and weddings.

Totally zoomed in on the desserts from the balcony

Desserts included Key Lime Cheesecake puffs, amazing coconut chocolate lava balls (my own name), chocolate cake and choc. peanut butter candies.

 

I didn’t take any of myself because I’m still not happy with the idea of being in my glasses all the time.  I know, I know – whiiiine!

Anyway, Sunday was definitely a comfort food day in our house:

My rump.

 

Time warp 6 loooong hours….

The meat was so tender, no knife was even needed.

As if that weren’t enough Betty Crocker for you, I made a cake.  I looove strawberry cake!

No, I did not steal a piece.  Ok, I did.

If you’re not in the mood to make your own frosting, may I suggest this.

Crock Pot – Pot Roast

(Williams-Sonoma)

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 4 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 lb. red-skinned potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch
    pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups beef stock
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 3 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 beef rump roast, 3 to 4 lb.
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

Put the onion, carrots, potatoes, stock, tomato sauce, garlic, thyme and bay leaf in a slow cooker and stir to combine.

Season the roast with salt and pepper. Put the flour in a large bowl, add the roast and toss to coat evenly.

In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, warm the olive oil until nearly smoking. Add the roast and brown on all sides, 3 to 4 minutes total. Transfer to the slow cooker, cover and cook on high for 6 hours according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Transfer the roast to a carving board, cover loosely with aluminum foil and let rest for 5 minutes. Slice the meat and arrange on a warmed platter. Remove the bay leaf and serve the vegetables and sauce alongside.

Well, I’m about to head north on the turnpike towards Scranton – the Land of Michael Scott.  My Mama is having some surgery tomorrow, so I’m going home to be with her.
Before I sign off, I wanted to offer my services to anyone out there looking for any particular clothing item that you just can’t seem to find, but are dying to get your hands on.  Maybe I could help!  Email foodnfashionlife@gmail.com or leave a comment.  You can even find me on the FB now!
Have a great night everyone!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

