Oooey Gooey Cheesey Goodness

I was at work when I received an email from Shopbop about the sale and couldn’t wait to share the news! Obviously, I don’t do any blogging at work, however this was important. I thought my 2 year old Blackberry Curve was going to combust when I hit the Publish button. (Husband – if you are reading, I want the iPhone!!!) I don’t know if you’ve all “bopped” before, but I love shopping there. I can tell you from experience, they have great customer service and an utterly fabulous selection of clothes.  I hope that some of you were able to benefit from the Stopbop Sale. If you got something, I’d love to see it!

I finally got to making Macaroni and Cheese!  I tweaked my own recipe a little bit to make it creamier and I’m very happy with the results….

Macaroni and Cheese

1 pound Elbow Macaroni (Cavatappi is best)

4 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup flour

4 cups Skim Milk (yes, skim!)

1/2 pint of Heavy Cream

2 cups of Gruyere Cheese

1 1/2 cups of Coby Jack

1/4 cup of Mozzarella

1/2 pound Maple Bacon

1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

Kosher Salt

Italian Style Breadcrumbs

*Cook the bacon in a frying pan, once cooked set aside

* Melt butter in saucepan

 

Don't you just love the smell of melting butter??

 

*Stirring constantly, add the flour.

* Once blended, slowly stir in the milk and heavy cream.  Keep stirring….Mixture will thicken after a few minutes.

*Add your cheese, cayenne pepper and kosher salt.

*Stir until all the cheese has melted.  In the meantime, chop the cooked bacon.

*Cook the pasta per the instructions, however, remove from the stove about 2 minutes before completely cooked.  The pasta will finish cooking in the oven.

*Pour into baking dish.  Add the chopped bacon and the cheese mixture.

*Sprinkle the Italian Style Bread Crumbs on top.

*Bake form 25 to 30 minutes at 350.

 

Look at that cheese bubble!

 

I dug right in!  No temperature too hot for me!

You could probably use any of your favorite cheeses in this.  OR if you lived in a household where people eat vegetables besides yourself (Sorry babe!), you could even add broccoli.

I hope, if you try this, you enjoy it.

In other news, opinions are needed: I received news yesterday that I cannot wear my contact lenses for an entire week. This was devastating. I have nothing against glasses, per say, just when I have to wear them. They hurt my ears and slide down my nose…ugh. So, in order to make myself feel better, I decided that it may be time to get some new frames! Shopping makes everything better!! Tomorrow I thought I’d go check out these bad boys:

[Image source]

I think they’ree very geek chic. We’ll see if I can pull of this look tomorrow. The best part is that Lenscrafters is having a 30% off sale until October 30. YES!

Happy Friday!!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

