A Little More About Me….

So I thought I would give more of an introduction to myself.  I had to cut last night’s short because I just had to watch the Phillie clinch the NL East for the 4th year in a row!!

Anyway, more about me, less about the Phils!  I’ll be slowing introducing myself to you all (although, currently my only reader is my mom!)  My husband and I currently reside just outside of Philadelphia (as if you couldn’t tell from the above).   We just celebrated our first anniversary – one down!  And you can be sure, he is well aware of my food obsession.

I swam competitively from age 6 until I was 18.  Now, I promise to do my best and dig up some of those pictures…I promise.  During those years, I was able to eat anything and everything I wanted because I was burning so many calories.  Well, when it came time to picking colleges, I decided that I was absolutely done with swimming.  I went to St. Joe’s, who coincidentally does not have a swim team, and found out the hard way that I had no idea how to eat!  I gained the freshman 15 and then some.  It wasn’t until junior year that I got myself back on track.  I had to learn how to work out on my own and not in a structured, team environment.  Slowly I learned, and am continuing to learn.  I don’t work out every day, and I don’t cook every day (eek!). I’ve read various blogs and articles and have learned so much.  I’m hoping that  I will motivate you, as I you may motivate me.

That's me - #314!

So let’s get to food!  I got suckered (ha) into ordering out lunch, partly because what I had was not appealing at all.  Note to self:  grocery shop!  I decided on the Turkey Club Salad from Saladworks – hold the bacon and added more protein with some eggs.

Tonights menu: Italian (Turkey) Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and green beans

Italian (Turkey) Meatlof

(Courtesy of Food Network’s Michael Chiarello)


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a medium saute pan over medium heat and add the peppers, onions and garlic. Saute until just soft, remove to a plate and cool.

When the peppers and onions are cool, combine all of the remaining ingredients together except for the marinara. Pack the meat mixture into an oiled loaf pan, if you do not have a loaf pan, form the meat mixture into a loaf shape on an oiled oven tray or baking dish. Top with the marinara making sure to spread evenly over the top.

Bake for approximately 50 to 60 minutes or until an instant-read thermometer registers 160 degrees F in the middle of the meatloaf. Remove from the oven and let rest for 5 minutes. Slice and serve.

I even prepped this last night!  I’m going to finish up dinner and get ready for my 8:00 date with Glee!  IT’S BRITNEY!

CHEERS!

This entry was posted in About me, Recipes, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little More About Me….

  1. Chef Dennis says:

    Congrats on your first year anniversary!! and how about our phillies!!! lets hope they win the series again (we get an extra day off for the parade at the Mount!).
    Very nice to meet you and if I can help you in any way with your blog or navigating food buzz, don’t hesitate to ask!

    Cheers
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

